The 2020-2021 Superlatives for the College Football Season

Here at Menace 2 Sports, we gave college football fans the way-too-early superlatives for the 2020-2021 season. Some were spot on, and there were some teams, coaches, and players who caught us by surprise. Now that the season has commenced, let’s look at the superlatives for this year’s unforgettable season. 


Danny Wuerffel Award: 

Previous Winner: Trevor Lawrence, QB, Clemson

Current Winner: Mac Jones, QB, Alabama

Awarded to the best quarterback in the CFB.

MAC JONES! WHO?! There were not too many people that saw this coming. Everyone knows that Jones had a stable of weapons, but he rose to the occasion in his lone year as the starting quarterback. The Davey O’Brien Award winner tallied 4,500 yards through the air while tossing 41 touchdowns to 4 interceptions. 

The Reggie Bush Award:

Previous and Current Winner: Justin Fields, QB, Ohio State

 Current Winner: Trevor Lawrence, QB Clemson

Awarded to the most outstanding player in CFB.

Justin Fields and Trevor Lawrence will always be attached to the hip. You could argue that they were the two outstanding players in college football, but with Covid running rampant through college football, we did not get to see their full potential. Despite that, they have proven that they are the best in college football.

Peter Warrick Award: 

Previous Winner: Rondale Moore, WR, Purdue

Current Winner: Kyle Pitts, TE, Florida 

Awarded to the most exciting player in the CFB.

You must be damn impressive to be the most exciting player in CFB as a Tight End. Florida’s Kyle Pitts is not your usual tight end, though. Pitts can high point the ball like an elite wide receiver and he is just as nimble as one as well. Pitts tallied 770 yards with 12 touchdowns in just 8 games. Pitts’ best football is ahead of him and it was a joy to watch him during his junior campaign.

Charlie Weis Award: 

Previous Winner: Jimbo Fisher, Texas A&M

Current Winner: Tom Herman, Defunded by Texas

Awarded to the most overrated coach in CFB.

Expectations are always high in Austin, and as a surprise, Tom Herman did not meet or exceed them. This year was the tip of the iceberg when the Longhorns finished 7-3. For some programs, you can get away with that, not at a blue-blood program like Texas. For Herman, the problems were not only on the field but in recruiting they lost several talented in-state players such as Garrett Wilson (OSU) Kenyon Green (TAMU), DeMarvin Leal (TAMU), Zach Evans (TCU), and many more. Herman is a good football coach so he will regain his footing later down the line, but he could not handle the rigors of being the head man for one of the best programs in college football history. 

The Joe Burrow Award: 

Previous Winner: Cade Mays, OL, Tennessee

Current Winner: D’Eriq King, QB, Miami 

Awarded to the best transfer in CFB.

D’Eriq King brought Miami back to relevancy to some capacity. No, Nevin Shapiro is not running out of the tunnel anymore, but people had respect for “The U” for the first time in a while. King is returning for another year and things will only get better for Miami and King going forward. 

Josh Metellus Award: 

Previous Winner: Whoever wears No.14 at Michigan.

Current Winner: Any CB that wears a number over 26.

Awarded to the cornerback that is most likely to get ‘Mossed’

In college football, this is your time to exemplify swag and come into your own as a young man and player. That said, if I am a defensive back coach, I am not allowing any of my players to wear a number over 26. Any number that high means you are a liability and are most likely to get picked on by opposing offenses. 

LaVar Arrington Award: 

Previous Winner: Gregory Rousseau, DL, Miami

Current Winner: No. 94, DL/Bandit, Coastal Carolina 

Awarded to the most feared defensive player in the CFB.

No.94 has a name. His name is Jeffery Gunter. I am fearful for saying his name in vain, but he is far and away from the most feared football player in college football. Gunter got a bad rap for a few dirty plays on BYU’s quarterback Zach Wilson, but he is more than that as a player. When you turn on the tape, Gunter is a combination of Alvin Mack and Steve Lattimer from the uber-popular film from the 1990’s—The Program. Gunter is an All-Sun Belt performer that will likely play on Sundays. 

Jackie Sherill Award: Dabo Swinney, Clemson

Awarded to the most annoying coach in CFB.

Did you think this would change? 

Jake Locker Award:

Previous Winner: Ian Book, QB, Notre Dame

Current Winner: Joe Milton, QB, Michigan

Awarded to the player that will not live up to the hype.

This is not Joe Milton’s fault. Before the season, Milton was compared to Heisman Trophy and National Champion winner Cameron Jerrell Newton and with that, expectations were high for him. Milton had a terrible season but showed some flashes. Milton was not put in the best position to succeed, but he did not help himself either. It is unknown what is next for Milton, but we should stop placing insane expectations on kids while they are still developing.

Richard Sherman Award: 

Previous Winner: Ahmad “Sauce” Gardner, DB, Cincinnati

Current Winner: Akheem Mesidor, DL, West Virginia 

Awarded to the best CFP player you have never heard of.

The Big 12 is not known for defense, but West Virginia had one of the stingiest defenses in the country. Their best player on that side of the ball was freshman Ahkeem Mesidor. Mesidor isn’t a household name, but if you ask any offensive coordinator in the Big 12 about him, they will mention No.90’s name often as someone who keeps them up at night.

Michael Crabtree Award: 

Previous Winner: Ja’Marr Chase, WR, LSU

Current Winner: Devonta Smith, WR, Alabama

Awarded to the best WR in the CFB.

This choice was a no-brainer. Devonta Smith won the Heisman Trophy, Maxwell Award, Walter Camp Award, Biletnikoff Award, Paul Hornug Award, and practically any other college football award for offensive players this year. 

Noel Devine Award: 

Previous Winner: Chuba Hubbard, RB Oklahoma State

Current Winner: Najee Harris, RB, Alabama

Awarded to the most exciting RB in CFB.

Najee Harris was far and away the best and most exciting running back during this college football season. From his interviews to play on the field, Harris was must-see-tv. If it were any other year, Harris would be the Heisman winner, but he had too much competition in his locker room. Despite having an insanely talented team, Harris ran for 1466 yards and had 30 total touchdowns.

Honey Badger Award:

Previous Winner: Micah Parsons, LB, Penn State

Current Winner: Kyle Hamilton, S, Notre Dame

Awarded to the most versatile defender in CFB.

Kyle Hamilton will get his name called early in next year’s NFL Draft. He is a safety that can cover, tackle, and make game-changing plays. Hamilton did not have much help on defense, but he was the heart and soul of Notre Dame’s defense. As he enters his junior season, he will be on the lots of awards watch list, and he will look to be a two-time All American. 

Steve McNair Award:

Previous Winner: Trey Lance, QB, North Dakota State 

Current Winner: Jaret Patterson, RB, Buffalo

Awarded to the best player from a small school.Jaret Patterson is the best player you have never heard of. The junior running back won the MAC offensive player of the year and if he played enough games, he would have been an All-American. In six games, Patterson rushed for 1,072 yards and 19 touchdowns. Patterson tied the FBS single-game record with eight rushing touchdowns against Kent State. In that same game, he had 409 yards rushing, which was 18 yards short of the FBS record.

Leave a comment